Quick Answer: How Many Arjuna Awards Are Awarded In The Year 2020?

How many Arjuna Award are awarded in the year 2020?

– In 2020, for the Arjuna Award 27 sportspersons have been selected for consistently outstanding performance for four years.

– Dhyan Chand Award is awarded for the contribution to sports development life-time.

This year 15 sportspersons have been selected for Dhyan Chand Award..

Who received the dhyanchand puraskar in 2020?

Kuldip Singh BhullarRecipientsYearRecipient(s)Discipline(s)2019Nitin KirtaneTennis2019C. LalremsangaArchery2020Kuldip Singh BhullarAthletics2020Jincy PhilipsAthletics71 more rows

Who was the first Indian footballer to receive the Arjuna Award?

He is the only footballer in this year’s shortlist and also the first male Indian footballer to win the award since Subrata Paul received the title back in 2016. To recall, Sunil Chhetri was conferred with the Arjuna Award back in 2011.

Which language has highest jnanpith award?

KannadaThe award was instituted in 1961. An Indian citizen who writes in any of the official languages of India is eligible for the honour. So far Kannada writers have won 7 awards (highest any for any language). Eminent Gujarati novelist Raghuveer Chaudhary has been chosen for the prestigious Jnanpith Award for 2015.

What is the prize money for Dronacharya award?

Further, Government has enhancedthe prize money of National Sports Awards recently i.e. forRajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna AwardfromRs 7.5 lakh to Rs 25lakh, for Dronacharya Award(Regular Category) fromRs5lakh toRs 10 lakh, for Dronacharya Award(Lifetime Category) from Rs5lakh toRs 15 lakh, for Arjuna Award from Rs5lakh toRs …

Who is the youngest Arjuna Award winner?

Abhinav BindraAbhinav Bindra is the youngest recipient of Khel Ratna. Shooter Abhinav Bindra is the youngest recipient of the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award, India’s highest sporting honor. The Olympic gold medalist was conferred the award in 2001 at the age of 18.

Who gives Arjuna Award?

Ministry of Youth Affairs and SportsThe Arjuna Awards are given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, government of India to recognize outstanding achievement in National sports. Instituted in 1961, the award carries a cash prize of Rs 500,000, a bronze statue of Arjuna and a scroll.

Which is bigger Khel Ratna or Arjuna Award?

Currently, the Khel Ratna comes with a cash prize of Rs 7.5 lakh, while the Arjuna awardees get Rs 5 lakh. … The prize money for Dhyan Chand and Dronacharya (Lifetime) awards will also be increased from Rs 5 lakh to Rs 15 lakh.

Who is the first woman cricketer Arjun Award?

Stephie D’SouzaStephie D’Souza was win the Arjuna Award presented by the Government of India. She died in Jamshedpur (Jharkhand) at the age of 61.

Which is the highest gallantry award in India?


What is the prize money given in Arjuna Award?

Arjuna Award has been enhanced to 15 lakh rupees from 5 lakh. The Dhronacharya (Lifetime) awardees, who were earlier given 5 lakh rupees will now be given 15 lakh rupees as cash prize, while Dhronacharya (Regular) will be given 10 lakh instead of 5 lakh rupees per awardee.

Who is the first Jnanpith award winner?

G. Sankara KurupG. Sankara Kurup (1901– 1978), a Malayalam poet, won the first Jnanpith Award in 1965, the year of its inception, for his anthology of poems, titled Odakkuzhal.

Which award has highest cash prize?

PrizesEquivalent in US$ (April 2016)Prize amountPrize name524,527kr 5,000,000Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award138,180€125,000RBA Prize for Crime Writing55,270€50,000Premio de Narrativa Breve Ribera del Duero39,358£30,000Sunday Times EFG Private Bank Short Story Award1 more row

Who got the award in 2020?

NEW DELHI: Following is the list of National Sports Award winners for the year 2020: National Sports Award winners: Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award: Rohit Sharma (Cricket), Mariyappan Thangavelu (Para Athletics), Manika Batra (Table Tennis), Vinesh Phogat (Wrestling), Rani Rampal (Hockey).

Who got Khel Ratna?

cricketer Rohit SharmaAn unprecedented five athletes – cricketer Rohit Sharma, wrestler Vinesh Phogat, para-athlete Mariyappan Thangavelu, women’s hockey team captain Rani Rampal, and paddler Manika Batra – were on Saturday conferred with the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award, the country’s highest honour for sportspersons.

What is the new policy to select Arjuna Awards?

The latest revision in 2018 stipulates that the award is given only to the disciplines included in the events like Olympic Games, Paralympic Games, Asian Games, Commonwealth Games, World Championship and World Cup along with Cricket, Indigenous Games, and Parasports.

Who won Gyanpeeth Award 2020?

Akkitham Achuthan NamboothiriJnanpith Award55th Jnanpith Award/WinnersWhy in News. Renowned Malayalam poet Akkitham Achuthan Namboothiri was conferred the 55th edition of the Jnanpith Award.

Who got Njanapeedam award in 2020?

Amitav GhoshRenowned author Amitav Ghosh was felicitated with 54th Jnanpith Award for his outstanding contribution to enrichment of Indian Literature in English.

What is the prize money of Bharat Ratna?

The recommendations for the Bharat Ratna are made by the Prime Minister to the President, with a maximum of three nominees being awarded per year. The recipients receive a Sanad (certificate) signed by the President and a peepal leaf-shaped medallion. There is no monetary grant associated with the award.

Where is Kutraleeswaran now?

Kutral started his career as a hardware engineer with the Intel Corporation and transitioned to Citibank as an Investment Banker. He currently works for Venture Capital Fund named “Flow Capital” in Toranto, Ontario, Canada. He is an inspiration for many youngsters, around the globe, especially in India.

Which is the highest award in sports?

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna AwardRajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna is the country’s highest sporting honour, conferred on sportspersons for displaying outstanding performance for over a period of four years.